

## VIA ELECTRONIC MAIL

October 25, 2023

Dr. Kirk Calhoun President The University of Texas at Tyler 3900 University Blvd. Tyler, TX 75799

Dear President Calhoun:

This Association has been advised by Professor Mickie Mwanzia Koster, a tenured associate professor in the Department of History with twelve years of service at the University of Texas at Tyler, of the letter dated October 16, 2023, that she received from college of arts and sciences Dean Neil Gray, notifying her that her services were being terminated effective October 31. According to the dean's letter, the grounds for dismissing her were that she had

personally employed an individual who was not employed by or affiliated with the University and provided this individual with your UTT login credentials which allowed this individual to access protected student information. The investigation confirmed that this individual used your login credentials to access information entrusted to you in the University's Canvas LMS application and to complete training modules assigned specifically to you.

We note that Professor Koster was not afforded a hearing in her defense prior to being dismissed.

Assuming that the information we have been provided is accurate, we are writing to advise you that the administration's action to dismiss Professor Koster without having first demonstrated adequacy of cause in a faculty hearing is fundamentally at odds with basic standards of academic due process as set forth in the enclosed 1940 Statement of Principles on Academic Freedom and Tenure and the complementary 1958 Statement on Procedural Standards in Faculty Dismissal Proceedings.

We urge that you rescind the notice of dismissal issued to Professor Koster, and that any subsequent action be consistent with the above-referenced standards. In the alternative, we urge that the administration seek a mutually satisfactory resolution of this matter.

We look forward to your prompt response.

Sincerely,

Anita Levy, Ph.D. Associate Secretary

anita Levy

## Enclosures

Cc: Dr. Amir Mirmiran, Provost

Dr. Neil Gray, Dean, College of Arts and Science Professor Amentahru Wahlrab, President, Faculty Senate

Professor Brian L. Evans, Interim President, Texas Conference of AAUP

Professor Mickie Mwanzia Koster