American Association of University Professors at The University of Texas at Austin. Twitter. Join AAUP.

Please contact Brian Evans if you are interested in advocating for academic freedom, tenure and other higher ed values in Texas.

Our advocacy is amplified by teaming with Texas AAUP, AAUP , Texas AFT, AFT, TACT, TFA, and other orgs.

AAUP@UT members are speaking for themselves as private citizens and not on behalf of any group, institution or organization.

Brainstorming with Texas Legislators at AFT Breakfast

Austin-area AFT Locals invited Austin-area Texas Legislators to a Breakfast on Saturday, February 25, 2023, to brainstorm on public K-12 and higher education issues. In the above picture, Rep. John Bucy is responding to ideas from Texas AFT members and Texas AAUP Conference Officers Jim Klein (on the left) and Brian Evans (on the right) attending as private citizens. AAUP affiliated with AFT in August.

The following Legislators attended:

  • Rep. John Bucy, III (D-Cedar Park, District 136) BA History Austin College
  • Rep. Sheryl Cole (D-Austin, District 46) BA Accounting, UT Austin; JD UT Austin
  • Rep. Lulu Flores (D-Austin, District 51) BA Government, UT Austin; JD UT Austin
  • Rep. Vikki Goodwin (D-Austin, District 47) BBA UT Austin; Masters LBJ School of Public Affairs, UT Austin
  • Rep. Gina Hinojosa (D-Austin, District 49) BA Government, Liberal Arts Plan II Honors, UT Austin; JD George Washington University
  • Rep. Donna Howard (D-Austin, District 48) BS & MS Nursing, UT Austin
  • Rep. James Talarico (D-Austin, District 50) BA Government, UT Austin; MA Educational Policy, Harvard University.

Reps. Bucy, Cole, and Howard are on the House Higher Education Committee and Reps. Hinojosa and Talarico are on the House Public Education Committee.

The AFT sponsors were Austin Community College AFT, Education Austin, Bastrop Federation of Teachers, and Education Round Rock.

Eleven Texas AAUP Members attended as private citizens including Jim Klein, Teresa Klein and Pat Heintzelman shown below. Jim Klein is also the President of the Texas Association of College Teachers; Teresa Klein is the Texas AAUP VP for South Texas; and Pat Heinzelman is also the President of the Texas Faculty Association, TSTA, NEA.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: